Introduction

Hello singers, welcome to my teaching website! You’ve come to the right place if you’re looking for a teacher with a proven record of success: I have 18+ years experience as a voice teacher in addition to my 25+ years of experience as a professional operatic soprano. I was trained at Manhattan School of Music, as well as numerous prestigious institutions such as the Santa Fe Opera, Tanglewood Music Center, the Mozarteum in Salzburg, among others.  I have performed nationally and internationally including Germany, the UK, France, Canada as well as the US.

My teaching focuses on the use of old-school classical exercises rooted in the Italian “bel canto” period, which is considered the golden age of singing.  These exercises, when worked on diligently and regularly, will give you the technical freedom to enable you to sing well in any style, whether it is opera, musical theater, jazz, pop, experimental, or basically anything that defines the verb “to sing”. The root of all good singing is classical technique, just as the root of great contemporary dance technique is ballet training. Once your voice grows and improves with these exercises, we move on to repertoire that suits you and that you like to sing.

I work with beginners, amateurs, and professionals of all ages and singing styles to improve tone, range (including developing the upper register), pitch, breath support, phrasing, and ultimately confidence.  The great French composer and teacher Nadia Boulanger once said – Technique equals freedom.  Truer words have never been spoken.

I am a graduate of Manhattan School of Music and I also studied at such institutions as the Tanglewood Music Center, the Mozarteum Summer Academy in Austria, the Britten-Pears school in the UK among others.  I have worked with many great teachers and singers over the years and know my craft well and am eager to pass that onto you.  Several of my students have been admitted to conservatories and performing arts high schools, such as Manhattan School of Music and LaGuardia High School (of the movie “Fame”). I was a voice faculty member of the Brooklyn Conservatory of Music for 14 years and was awarded Thumbtack’s Best of 2015 and 2016 Voice award.

